Elephant Cloth which looks like early computer game

When I saw this beautiful cloth I loved it and wanted to post it.  It is in the current Exhibition at the excellent Asian Civilisations Museum in Singapore entitled: Patterns of Trade: Indian Textiles for Export 1400-1900.

This wonderful elephant was manufactured in the late 18th or early 19th centuries in Gujarat for the Dutch East India Company, which used the cloths for gifts to local rulers in their trade and possessions in what is now Indonesia.

As the caption itself notes, the weaving technique produces a pixelated effect like a 1980s computer game!

Global trade and globalisation are of course nothing new.

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

Leave a Reply

