Business Transformation Award at NASSCOM in Mumbai

Somewhat to my surprise – I only found out end of last week – I was awarded last night the global  Business Transformation Leader Award at the Indian IT Conference in Mumbai.  This is hosted by NASSCOM which is the association of Indian IT software and services companies.  The combined revenues of NASSCOM companies just passed $100 billion.

I was delighted to be given this Award which reflects my 12 years work as a CIO in BA and now John Lewis IT Director, and also my Chairmanship of SITA, the airlines and airport solutions company.

I was honoured to be given the Award by Shri P Chidambaram, India Minister of Home Affairs.  This is what I said.

“I cannot tell you what an honour it is to receive this Award from NASSCOM.

I have long admired the the Indian IT industry and have had long business relationships with many of the leaders in the audience.  As we all know the companies that form NASSCOM has been a major force in India’s rise as a global economic player.

If I have learned one thing in my 12 years as a CIO – it is that “IT is a team sport”.

This award is for leadership in business transformation – you only make IT enabled business change succeed if the IT leaders and the business leaders work together as a joined up team.

I have for many years in several roles included Indian IT companies in my teams as suppliers.  So I am proud and honoured to be given this Award by NASSCOM.”

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

4 Responses to Business Transformation Award at NASSCOM in Mumbai

  1. Nigel Lapthorne says:

    Congratulations!

  2. Will Huggins says:

    Congratulations – Great recognition of UK thought leadership in IT.

Leave a Reply

