Steve Job’s Genius

I wish I could say something new and profound about Steve Jobs and Apple.

As I tweeted at the time, I have never felt so impacted by the death of a stranger.  And I was very far from being alone in that.  He shaped the way we live these days with iTunes, iPod, iPhone, iPad and  – watch folks! – iCloud.   Also, for those of us in technology and IT, he was and is a brilliant role-model – and he made IT cool again (like it was 10 years ago)!

But the whole point is, he was never just about technology.

My favourite Steve Jobs quote is about this.  At the end of his speech introducing the iPad2 in March this year, he said:

“Technology alone is not enough, it’s technology married with liberal arts, married with humanities, that yields the results that make our hearts sing.”

Steve Jobs knew that elegance and simplicity of design mattered.  He knew that we live in a world where computers are no longer technology – they are fashion items as well as tools, carried everywhere by many, and they can do almost everything.  He knew that because he created that world.

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

Leave a Reply

