More on ’50 Things I wish I had known…’

I looked recently through the material Simon LaFosse posted following the Event I did for him back at the end of May.

It was – by some way – the scariest piece of public speaking I have done, on account of the number of CIOs, IT Directors and other IT industry people in the audience.  They know what being a CIO is like.

There is a handy – and quite pacey – summary on Simon’s site of what I said that evening, based around my “50 Things I wish I had known before becoming a CIO”.

Reading that summary through makes me realise I need to take some more of my own medicine.  Or, to put it another way, please don’t anyone think I actually manage to do all of this: the 50 things are what I want to do and am trying to do.  Real life is as ever both more complicated and more interesting!

If you are interested in more, there is the actual “50 Things” booklet I self-published on Lulu .com.

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

Leave a Reply

