Leaving BA

As a result of the merger of British Airways with Iberia and the formation of the International Airlines Group (IAG), I have decided there is not a suitable role for me within the new BA Operating Company.

I have therefore chosen to leave to pursue other opportunities outside BA.  I will, however, continue as the BA nominated director on the board of SITA, which I currently chair.

Announcing my departure, Keith Williams, BA’s CEO designate said: “Paul has been CIO of British Airways for just over 10 years (and Head of the wider BA Services for the last two years). We would like to thank him for his significant contribution to our business – notably the development of BA.com – in some of the most challenging and exciting trading periods in the company’s history.”

I am very proud of what we at BA have achieved in the last 10 years.  BA.com is indeed the jewel in our crown, and is now fundamental to how the airline sells tickets and holidays, and to BA’s customer service.

I am equally proud of the  24×7 IT operational excellence which is the foundation of everything the airline does.

Technology has helped transform business processes across the airline and “LEAN” techniques have empowered teams in many departments. My principle has always been that there are no IT projects, only business projects.

Everything I have achieved over the last 10 years as CIO and latterly Head of Services has been the direct result of the skills, professionalism and commitment of BA people.

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

3 Responses to Leaving BA

  1. All the best Paul to your new exploration.
    I think that your work positively stigmatise BA’s services.
    Well done !
    AK

  2. Douglas Holland says:

    Whilst I suspect at a personal level your decision is correct, I still see the loss of your vision, especially during the BA/Iberia tie up period as something BA can ill afford.
    .

  3. Douglas Holland says:

    Congratulations on your new ;job’ at John Lewis.

Leave a Reply

