The Next Digital Decade will Revolutionise the Air Transport Industry

Here is the first part of my address to the SITA/Airline Business IT Summit in June this year:

In it I set out how IT has revolutionised the travel industry over the past decade, and illustrate this with some examples of how we have used it in British Airways with ba.com over the last decade with initiatives like calendar-selling, Manage my Booking, online check-in and dynamic packaging (integrating hotel and car hire etc with your flight booking).

Next , I look at how we are using social networking, YouTube and Twitter and how customers now expect to be connected everywhere  and anytime.

I then set out what I see as the likely trends in air transport in the next decade – which can be best described as a return to growth in a world that is very aware of green issues and the need to manage emissions.

This sets up discussion of the “4 Big Cs” – the key IT changes in coming decade –  in the second part of my address, which I’ve already blogged about here.

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

Leave a Reply

