Are you defined by an App too?

I remarked to my wife just now that everything has changed in the last 12 months – which she very reasonably corrected to “everything technological has changed”.  She is, of course, right – although rather a lot has also happened in climate change and the economy as well – but this is a blog about technology.

What prompted this observation was that we were about to board our holiday flight at Gatwick Airport when my daughters remembered that they had not brought any books to read.  No problem: immediately we reached for our iPads (yes, we are all early adopters!) and went onto iBooks to download holiday reading.  This varied from the latest fiction to the Gutenberg Project’s free copy of “The Destruction of the Indies” by Bartlolome de las Casas.

I find iBooks not a substitute for paper books but a tremendous addition, which enables the addition of new books literally at the click of the mouse – and at moderate (if any!) shock to the credit card.

In our family we are all iPhone users and I realised recently that our apps in many ways mirror our tastes, obsessions and lifestyles.   Google Maps are so much better than the expensive and clunky guidance system on the car; Twitter enables one to express oneself and to link to other people with similar interests – whether those are Lotus F1, Hadrian’s Wall or pond life (literally) in Norfolk.

So, which iPhone or iPad app could you least well survive with?  Initially I nominated – rather boringly, it has to be admitted, Tweeterena 2 – while someone in my family (who has 2 English Lit MAs at prestigious British and American colleges) came up with “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”!

But, as an inveterate snapper of people and places I visit, I now think my defining app is (apart from the new BA app, that is) probably Photos. It organises what used to be piles of prints, sorts them and lets you share them with friends and family.

Anyone who reads this, have a think and choose not your favourite app, but the one that – in some way or another – defines you!

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

4 Responses to Are you defined by an App too?

  1. Charlie Pryor says:

    My books folder (yes I have downloaded the iPhone 4 software) defines me, in two ways. In it, I have only free book apps: I discipline myself only to have free apps otherwise it would quickly become out of control. Secondly, the free book apps typically have older books – both fiction and non – which suit me perfectly. So according to my apps, I am a miserly bookworm.

    • paulcoby says:

      Thanks Charlie, we love the free book apps too. As you say they are typically older books and classics, which are hard to find or sometimes expensive. Easy access to information is one of the wonders of the modern world.

  2. GilesIG says:

    I can’t decide between two apps but as they give me the same outcome I’m going to mention them both. Being a motorsport fanatic I use RSSrunner for catching up on technical blogs and TweetDeck for staying in touch with the tweets & fb updates from the teams & drivers (Lotus Racing included!)

  3. GilesIG says:

    I can’t decide between two apps, but the results are similar, and my wife would agree they both define me.

    Being a motorsport fanatic I use RssRunner for catching up on technical blogs, and TweetDeck for staying in touch with the tweets & fb updates from the teams & drivers (Lotus Racing included !)

    The one that defines my wife ? AngryBird(s) !

Leave a Reply

