Kicking the (email) habit

I am blogging from on holiday – a pretty sick activity, I will admit, when you could be talking to your nearest and dearest or researching the history and culture of your destination. But arguably not as degenerate as doing your emails whilst away?

In my defence, I did promise to try and keep this blog going on at least a weekly basis…

One of my 4 “Big C” megatrends I talked about at the SITA/Airline Business IT Summit in July was Connectivity. I suggested that we now all want to be connected everywhere, any place and any time. (I plan to post about these “Big Cs” on return….)

I stick by this, particularly in business terms – but I am trying this Summer to respond to pressure from my family and, indeed, from my colleagues who say, “Do please get a life – see if you can break the habit of constantly peering at the Blackberry and breaking into an anxious sweat if you can’t replicate your emails at every hotel the instant you arrive”.

I know I am not alone in these obsessions.  So I have set myself the challenge of keeping off the emails for a week.

The deal is, if there is anything really important which I must know about and respond to, colleagues will text me.  And, of course, the awful truth is the fact that things work really well when you are not there – and that building a team you know can do really the job when you are not around is a key part of one’s leadership role.

And we all know that one email engenders a reply, which engenders another response – and lots of comments form others which you then reply to – so it goes on…..

I will report on my progress…

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

Leave a Reply

