Starting a Blog

It’s quite scary being faced with a large white space and wondering (a) what on earth to say and (b) whether anyone is going to read it. Somewhat reassuringly I read that 346,000,000 people read blogs so maybe  there is some hope!

So what’s this Blog going to be about?   Well this is going to be about being a CIO in 2010, which is one of the most interesting and enjoyable jobs on the face of the planet.   Why do I say this?   Well technology and telecommunications are changing the way we all work and perhaps much more interestingly the way we all communicate  with each other, the way we buy things and the way we interact at work and at play.   My job is to be part of all of this.

This Blog will therefore be about what’s happening in technology, and how it affects business, society and me.  I will try and post once a week, at the weekend.   This will be hard to keep up and even harder to keep interesting.

This week the news is of course the launch of the iPad, to decidedly mixed reception, but so too had the iPhone.   I am sure there are already millions of blogs about the iPad but there should be it’s the future of books and newspapers – maybe?

Now I freely confess I just want one.   This is because I have loved the iPod, the iPhone which moved me onto this MacBook for personal use.   So why wouldn’t I love the iPad even if it does not have Flash and iBooks isn’t available yet in the UK and so forth.

I want it because Apple is what technology should be about – well designed, easy to use, fun and desirable.

I want it because Steve Jobs said that “Apple stands at the intersection of technology and the liberal arts.”   This is what IT should be about: not about the technology but what the technology can do.  I loved the iPod because it gave me music in the way I wanted it.  I love the iPhone because it gives me apps I never knew I needed and is great for photos when I am traveling and I love the Mac because it sorts these photos out intuitively and lets me put music to accompany my albums.  They are all beautiful objects beautifully made that make your life easier and more fun.

As I CIO, if only our apps and interfaces enabled our businesses this well.   That’s what our colleagues want!

About paulcoby
I am CIO at the John Lewis Partnership in the UK. I was Chair of SITA - the airline solutions company owned by the Air Transport Community - for 11 years. I am also on the Boards of Clydesdale and Yorkshire Bank and Pets at Home. Previously I was Head of BA Services and for 10 years CIO at British Airways. I am interested in Roman and Military History. The views expressed are entirely my own not my employers.

One Response to Starting a Blog

  1. Wayne Furmidge says:

    It will be interesting to see how this market space grows, the mock up release by Google of a similar device looked interesting, http://www.theregister.co.uk/2010/02/02/google_chrome_tablet_mockup/, this could be a major contended for the Internet tablet/slate market due to the Chrome’s OS ties to cloud computing. This all depends on how the Chrome OS is received of course. As always there are device likely to come from, Microsoft, Nokia etc. as well.

Leave a Reply

